Ah ha … what have we here then?

Another defector?

15 thoughts on “Ah ha … what have we here then?

  1. It’s morphic resonance or something. Maybe Compulsive Tuning Disorder has been replaced by Compulsive Rehosting Disorder.

    Personally I like the file uploading, whereby I can hide my messy scripts behind the curtain and allow people to choose whether to read them or not.

    I also lost a few posts on blogger when it stopped responding, and that made me sad.

  2. “What’s up with Blogger anyway, that Doug and you and everyone else seems suddenly to want to move? Have I missed anything?”

    Well, you know about the spam incident, but I think that in itself wouldn’t have been enough because it was unusual.

    However, there were two days last week when performance was so bad that they had to take it down for most of the day. You could still see the published blogs, but we were unable to administer blogs. They obviously ran around like crazy to try to fix it, but did give the impression of being all at sea.

    WordPress.com, based on my own short experiments, seems to have a more functional interface as well, although I can’t remember what made me arrive at that conclusion.

  3. Oh, and the other reason I was moving, spam incident or not, was just to try to get some proper hosting sorted out and exercise more control over everything.

    Teething difficulties apart, I’m really enjoying the flexibility of self-hosting.

  4. “WordPress.com, based on my own short experiments, seems to have a more functional interface as well, although I can’t remember what made me arrive at that conclusion.”

    That sounds familiar — and not being able to put your finger on what makes it better also makes a kind of sense as well. I think that we only tend notice the problems with interfaces, and a good interface just goes without comment.

  5. # oracledoug Says:
    June 15th, 2006 at 12:07 am

    Colour or Black and White?

    You mean pictures or briefs? ;-D

Leave a Reply

